Skip to content ↓

Forest CE


Curriculum Subjects

Curriculum Overview

The National Curriculum is just one element in the education of every child. There is time and space in the school day and in each week, term and year to range beyond the National Curriculum specifications. The National Curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which our teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.

The National Curriculum comprises of twelve subjects, classified in legal terms as 'core' and 'foundation' subjects.

CORE: English, Mathematics, Science & Religious Education

FOUNDATION: Art, Music, Geography, History, Computing, Design Technology, PSHE & Foreign Language (French)

Your child’s education at The Forest CE Federation schools spans seven years and is divided into three phases:

  • Foundation Stage (Reception class)
  • Key Stage One (Years 1 and 2)
  • Key Stage Two (Years 3, 4, 5 and 6)

We teach a creative curriculum through termly themes.  The classrooms fully immerse themselves with the theme to keep learning alive for the children.  The teachers then create a theme curriculum map to send home to parents which goes into more detail about the learning.